In details

Monera Kingdom

Bacillus cereus: causer of foodborne diseases

What is - definition

Monera is an obsolete biological kingdom and the pioneer in the scientific classification of the other five. It comprises many organisms with prokaryotic cell organization (single-celled organisms without the membrane surrounding the nucleus - library - and without the presence of DNA-associated proteins).

For this reason, this kingdom was sometimes called Procaryote or Prokaryotae. Prior to its creation, the living beings of this species were considered as two plant divisions: Schizomycetes or bacteria (including most prokaryotes, which were considered fungi) and Cyanophyta which included the blue-green algae, which later came to belong. to the group of bacteria, commonly called cyanobacteria.

Summary of Key Features of Monera Kingdom

Recent analyzes of the DNA and RNA sequence have shown that there are two main groups of prokaryotes: Bacteria and Archae (prokaryotic organisms, usually chemotrophic - do not require oxygen - capable of surviving in extreme places).

From the division of the monera kingdom into Archae and Bacteria, a sixth kingdom arose. Consequently, all the new schemes abandoned the previous one and adopted this new classification. Currently, Bacteria, Archae and Eucariota (membrane-wrapped nucleus) are classified into separate domains.

Bacterium and Archae

Eubacteria and Archae differ noticeably when in environments favorable to their survival.

Most eubacteria are in contact with man, the best known are E.coli and salmonella.

Archaebacteria survive under extreme conditions such as hot springs, acidic environments, deep glacier depths and can breathe even methane.

Cyanobacteria: organisms that are part of the Monera Kingdom.